How To Share Trip Progress Using Google Maps: Google Maps sport numerous features which most of us are unaware about. One of such feature is adding multiple destinations on Google Map, another is sharing trip progress with your friends. The latter feature offers live location tracking that helps one notify his friends and family of his exact location, movement and trip progress using Google Maps.
‘What’s you ETA?’ or ‘Where are you now?’…whether you’re meeting up for a dinner or heading for a party, your friends or family will always have these questions. Now, you can answer these questions with just a few taps on your Google maps. This feature is available for both iOS and Android phones, where you can sure your real-time location with anyone.
When you share your trip progress with anyone, it helps you during grave times, when you’re stuck in an accident or aren’t feeling safe while going late at night. During such times, it’s best to use this amazing Google Map feature and share your trip’s progress with people you know.
Before you share your trip’s progress with anyone, ensure that you Google Maps App is updated and is the latest version. Otherwise, this new feature will not work on the older versions.
Here Is How To Share Trip Progress Using Google Maps
- Open Google Maps on your Mobile.
- Choose your destination and commence your trip
- No sooner than you initiate your trip, you will find a gray arrow at the bottom of the screen. Tap on that arrow and a few options will pop-up.
- The first option is ‘Share Trip Progress’. When you tap on it, you’ll be able to view all your contacts. Tick those contacts with whom you wish to share your ride’s progress.
- Select the contacts; you can select as many contacts as you want. Once you are done selecting, tap on the ‘Share’ button.
Once you hit the share button, your location will be shared with those selected contacts. At the bottom of the screen, you will find a message that your contacts are able to see your location until you arrive at your destination.
How do other contacts can see your shared location?
The person with whom you’ve shared your trip’s progress can view your location in the following ways:
- Open Google Maps on their device.
- Next, tap on the ‘Hamburger (Three parallel lines) icon’ on the top left of the screen.
- Then, tap on the share location. It will open a new tab where you can see the all the contacts who have shared their locations with you.
- You can tap on that contact whose location or trip’s progress you wish to see. You’ll be able to view all the details including where is the destination, what is the current location and how much time will that person take to reach his/her destination.
- The person with whom you’ve shared your location can also share his/her location directly. Just enable the ‘Share your Location’ button at the bottom of the screen.
This real-time location sharing feature is similar to WhatsApp location sharing, which uses Google Maps on Android.
Have any suggestions on above article How To Share Trip Progress Using Google Maps, do share in comments and share with your friends!